I Forge Iron

Historical shop/tools vs. "modern"methods

Hello all,

To begin, I am only a beginner and am a hobbyist at best. My "blacksmith shop" is what I haul up from the basement (minus the anvil) and set up in the back yard. My other "shop" is my side of the basement. I have recently been cutting some split crosses from 3/4 square bar with my hacksaw. One of my friends who lives near me couldn't believe that I had made all those cuts with just a hacksaw. He suggested I get a grinder, and I told him that I have been eyeing portable bandsaws...

Anyways, back to my point. I worked with a smith who wanted his shop to be historically accurate, no electricity etc. I like the idea and the sentiment, but I am wrestling with how practical it is. I really like the look of a down to earth blacksmith shop with no plastic or anything like that, but having those tools, like a portable bandsaw, is an amazing time and effort saver. I don't have many tools, and as I get more money and figure out what tools I need, I want to know if it is worth it to buy the more modern tools. Or, since I am a beginner and do this in my free time, is is not worth the extra expense?

I'm wondering what you guys do to find the balance, or what you would suggest. I have thought about making one of those cool old wooden chests/trunks to sit in the corner of my shop that would store all the blue, yellow and red plastic, or I thought about just staying with what I have, with the things that work, albeit a little slower than the fancy modern tools. Thanks for the insight and reading through this ramble!

-Will

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's up to you what you want to do and how. I would suggest do it in a way that it is the most fun to you. It is a hobby it’s not supposed to be a struggle. And even the smiths from a hundred years ago used the most modern tools they could get. Personal preference.