I Forge Iron

Aspects of an "ideal" anvil stand

I'm just getting into blacksmithing, but I've been in machining and fabrication for 30 some years. Which means I know almost nothing, but you can't convince me I don't know it all... So my first question is about anvil stands. It seems 95% of anvils are mounted to either tree trunks or fabricated tripods. The wood mounts seem as though they could add mass, but wood is naturally spongey (compared to metal) so it seems to me that these mounts would absorb some energy from each hammer blow. That's bad, right?

The metal ones are usually pretty spindley at the legs, so I can't help but think the mount is adding a spring constant of its own to the assembly, and they don't add much mass. Double bad?

Now, what is the best primary attribute of a mount? Do I *want* it to absorb some energy, or would it be better if it were 'perfectly' rigid? 

Would a theoretically perfect mount be a solid steel tree stump, lagged into the concrete floor? It seems to my thinking that that would be:

1. completely rigid

2. totally stable

3. add hundreds of pounds of mass

4. wouldn't move around *at all* Is this right, or am I thinking about this all wrong?

Is there benefit to the compressibility of softer mounting materials?

This subject has been debated endlessly. Here are my thoughts.

First, there is no such thing as "the perfect anvil stand". All stands have plusses and minuses.

Second, the job of the anvil stand is to hold the anvil in the proper position so that it can withstand the force of hammer blows and other operations. All other considerations are secondary.

Third, while one can make theoretical arguments for or against any particular style of stand or method of construction, the measurable differences between properly constructed stands are going to be insignificant, regardless of material.