I Forge Iron

Evaporust before and after

Hey all,

I'm a super newbie to all things blacksmithing, so I can't offer much to the site on those topics, but I a fair amount of work with metal...welding, cutting, restoring, etc.  One of my hobbies is restoring bench vises, and removing rust is a common task.  I've used most of the common techniques, to include electrolysis, wire wheel, etc but one of the easiest is a product called Evaporust.  I understand it's a chelation process, and the nice thing is it's not hazardous, non-toxic and generally pretty harmless.

I just started restoring an old Paker 975 vise (5" jaws, about 105lbs) and the swivel base was pretty rusty.  I would normally just wire wheel something like this, but it's hard to get a wheel down on the inside, and it takes a long time.  This time I just put the swivel base in Evaporust and let it sit for about 36 hours give or take.  Yes, you will notice quite a few casting flaws and incomplete holes, etc...they really didn't worry about them as they didn't hurt anything and weren't normally visible.

Here's the "before":

9798C3C0-3BF5-4764-A628-647899ED2262_zps

A0561137-0769-4C4A-82AC-57900E46E35D_zps

After soaking and being wiped off:

04C698B1-AA2F-4083-8333-37521165C34C_zps

DDB2AE92-F016-4A72-ADEA-B95B3B4A711A_zps

After five minutes with a wire wheel.  At this point it's good enough to prime, but if it was a museum piece I'd try to get that last little bit of the inside cleaner.  This will be a fairly inexpensive user vise for someone, so this is good enough.

C9F19B0F-DDAC-4423-BE43-0FCAAD9C7C0C_zps

C2DD196A-9040-4F12-BC14-701EDA4CA06E_zps