I Forge Iron

Neighbors with noise conpliant

I live in the uk, I am a beginner blacksmith with a back garden forge and I do make a bit of noise on accident most of my neighbors don't mind the noise but one neighbor has been threatening to report me for noise complaint. What can I do to make my forge and anvil quieter. 

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You might try playing some very loud and annoying music, ... to cover up the sound of your hammer.

Here in America we'd say, "give em' something to cry about".

I think the British axiom might be "hanged for a sheep as for a lamb".

What time are you usually forging at?

How long are you doing it per day?

How many days a week are you doing it?

If its between 11am and 7pm, one or two hours at a time, three days or less a week... let them complain. It's unlikely to be classified as a statutory nuisance and your local council wont do anything about it... not the most neighbourly action, so advisable you try to silence your anvil, and have a civil conversation about it with them, possibly even give them a gift you've made, be apologetic, etc... if that fails, see previous sentence.

If you're doing it stupidly early, or stupidly late (e.g. when children or the elderly are likely asleep), four to eight hours at a time, and every single day... there's a chance you can be served an abatement notice and end up in court if you persist.

The various methods of securing ones anvil and changing or damping the ring certainly help as dose hammer control and not striking cold steel. high density walls help as well but your probably not in a position to build brick walls around your garden. 

Certainly a civil conversation and the old bit of hardware is just the neighborly way of going about things, but as we all stretch the rules a bit it also is usually possible to dig up a bit of dirt on your neighbor and return the favor. It has proven effective with overbearing home owners associations.