I Forge Iron

Old coal forge - any of these worth my $$

Treozen

Hello folks -

I'm still contemplating just building a forge, but in my search I've come across the following examples of forges available in my local area (+/- 90 minute drive).  I am wondering if either of these is something I ought to consider, and figured I'd ask and see. Now I know that a lot depends on your intended use, experience and perhaps fuel, and so forth, so let me reiterate that I am a beginner with no experience that would like to try my hand at forging and probably make many useless objects, then a few useful ones, then eventually make some blades and such - So in short, tinker around, not looking to turn this into a career, but would like to think I can eventually make stuff worth using.

I'd prefer to avoid using electricity, out of practicality as much as anything else, and besides I prefer the "romantic style" of a manual forge....better yet if it had bellows, lol.

Here are the options I've found for existing forges. 

The first is a larger rectangular forge from Buffalo Forges, 36 X 30 on a rolling stand. Blower #400 is claimed as great condition, but you can tell the forge pan area is in dire need of rust repair. Asking $850

The second is an obviously smaller (Rivet?) buffalo forge. Condition claimed to be fair with the blower tuning free and operating. Asking $250

I'm having trouble picking a fuel - From what I've read, coal is bad for your health, dirty as heck and horribly smelly, charcoal sparks like crazy (not ideal for an outdoor forge) and requires significantly more fuel and fire care to work properly (versus coal) and propane is very noisy plus you'll go through a 20lb tank in a single session, assuming the tank doesn't freeze.....  BUT...assuming I go with solid fuel, are any of the attached options worth a look?

Thanks,

Allan.

00g0g_8OXeJakFiCX_600x450.jpg

00u0u_6tmWusCUtWb_1200x900.jpg

00X0X_kTwmTE10skn_600x450.jpg

01010_kHJVY2wa9YW_1200x900.jpg