I Forge Iron

Damascus with only hand hammers?

I have hammers from 1 pound all the way up to a 30 pound Monster Maul (not technically a hammer but serves as one) and would like to try making a damascus knife or hammer. I’ve never tried damascus before as I’m fairly new to forging. My question is this: is it possible to do any sort of damascus with only hand hammers? I’m a broke high school kid and can’t afford a power hammer. Any input is appreciated, thanks. 

Fairly new being over 1000 years for a water powered triphammer forging wrought iron; but pattern welding does go back centuries before then.  HOWEVER early shops were NOT a one person shop, 3 to 5 people was about the minimum.

BTAIM most of my pattern welding has been done by myself with a hand hammer. I like Bandsaw blade and pallet strapping as I can start with 20 to 25 layers and so save a couple of welding runs to get to the layer count I want.

Remember that pattern welding does not necessarily mean bladesmithing---it can be used for other things as well!

May I commend to your attention the section of National Geographic's"Living Treasures of Japan" dealing with the forging of a Katana by hand power; you can find it on youtube.

Now I assume that since you want to do pattern welding you are skilled at forging and have all the basics down and are good at forge welding; Or is this a "I want to win a Formula One race; how do I start the car?" post?

Practice forge welding until you are comfortable with the process. Comfortable as in can make GOOD forge welds every time. Them start forge welding low number stacks into billets. 

Practice means doing EVERYTHING right EVERY time. That is cleaning all surfaces of the metals, figuring out that no flux is needed, flux is not glue, to the right temperature for the metal and etc.