I Forge Iron

Hammer control question

I am just learning about blacksmithing as well as internet forums so if this question has already been asked and I missed it I apologize. 

I have been doing a very large amount of reading as well as watching several videos on bladesmithing as well as blacksmiths and one thing I have noticed is that when someone is swinging the hammer their hand is choked high on the handle. Is this to find the point of control vs power? Or is it a personal preference? 

Also if there is anyone in the central or Southern tier of NY that wouldn't mind helping me I would greatly appreciate it.

Adam F. 

Welcome aboard Adam, glad to have you.

How you hold your hammer can be the result of a number of things. Basically though choking up is more accurate but it also takes less strength. A lot of new guys think they need the heaviest hammer they can swing. They screw up a lot of work because they can't control it and sometimes injure themselves. I recommend a guy get nothing heavier than 32 oz. to start and a drill hammer is near perfect it's smooth faced and shorter handled weighing around 32 oz. It's heavy enough to do serious work but light enough to not tire you out quickly nor make mistakes permanent quickly.

Another hammering tip is do NOT hold your thumb on top of the handle! It makes a direct line up your skeleton to your shoulders so any recoil is conducted through joints to the top. Think tennis elbow, bersitus, etc.

Frosty The Lucky.

The thumb trick I have already learned from being a young dumb bull when I was younger working in plumbing. I have no grand illusions that my first time out I'm going to produce an amazing knife, some day yes, today no. Thank you for the reply and I am sure I will have more FNG questions.

Good Morning, Boo

Welcome from the Left Coast of the Island some call North Hamerica.