I Forge Iron

Pricing my work makes me uneasy

I have recently had requests for commissioned work and it scares me to death. I have been blacksmithing for 5 or 6 yrs but only really serious since March 2019. It's what I want but the pricing part of it turns my stomach because I feel like there are other smiths that can make things much better than me and so I don't know how to price my labor. I don't want to put it too low and take away from other smiths but I also don't want to put it too high and lose out on a sale.  

How do you quote a price for something when you have never made it and don't know how long it will take you to make it? My current delimma is that i was asked to quote a build on a fire place grate with specific dimensions/stock size and scroll work. I took a wild guess and on the time and am crossing my fingers. 

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There are a number of threads here that discusses that and various methods of coming up with a price.  Reviewing those may cover what you want to know.

One thing to remember is that you are doing Custom/Bespoke work and so that is not priced  at Fab shop prices.  I once had a mechanic who was surprised that custom work would be more expensive than Big Box Store stuff. I asked him if he would build me a car engine from the ground up cheaper than I could by one in a crate? He started to get the idea.

If the job zips through easily and fast you could always throw in a matching fire poker as boot...

As a welder people ask me all the time to quote em on a project from a picture found online..... My answer is always: If you want to see if I will quote for less than what you found online don't waste your time ( And mine..)