I Forge Iron

My First Sword (WIP)

nonjic

This is my first try at a sword. More work that I could have imagined when I started on it 4 months ago !

Its ready for heat treatment which will be done early next month on a sword forging course I am attending :D (with a couple of folks who really know about heat treating long pieces!)

Ive pushed my own welding boundrys a bit with this piece, Im not going to etch it before heat treat though. Ive had glimpses of the pattern when working on it, but would like to see it properly, all at once,....... if it survives quench!)

The tip is actually much more even than the photos suggest, The sanding lines play havoc with it in bright sunlight photos!

Any comments or suggestions fire away!

fin_2-1.jpg

fin_1-2.jpg

fin_3-1.jpg

fin_5-1.jpg

fin_6.jpg

Hi Thomas,

The blade is about 30" long, +5" for handle, Its about 2" at the hilt with a gentle taper to 1 3/4 just before the tip. Its ready for heat treat now, and weighs about 800g. The cutting edges are still thick so If it survives HT and I make it 'live' it should finish at 750 ish (the handle is still 'thick' aswell, which will loose some weight when I thin it)

The fuller was ground on an 8" wheel (my first hollow grind!, spent lots of time hand sanding it true)

Its a 4 bar interupted twist core, with a funky twisted 'serpent' edging strips (each made from 3 bars!) , lots of welding :) the steel is 15n20 & 20c from udderholm.

Fingers crossed for the heat treat, there is a bit of a gammy weld near the tip I really dont like the look of!

• 3 weeks later...

Well she survived heat treat under the supervision of Owen bush, and Howard Clark. Marquenched at 230C, then straightened, then tempered in oil at 250C. Lots of work still to do now regrinding it all thinner and true, and then polish and etch! big step out of the way with the HT though :D

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...