I Forge Iron

Where did I go wrong with this pattern welding?

Hi there,

I've never tried pattern welding metal before, and I've also never used stainless steel before.  But my wife thought it'd be nice to have a "simple damascus necklace" and it seemed like stainless steel was a good enough way to go, so figured I'd knock off two complete unknowns for me in one go.
Needless to say, it didn't go well. :lol:

I started with about 1m of 304 and 316 and cut it roughly evenly.  I sanded off all the rough edges from cutting and cleaned the surfaces with acetone.  I stacked and welded them together as best I could (don't look too closely at the welds - it's only the second time I've ever tried welding anything!)  I got the metal warm and sprinkled with borax then brought it up to temperature (well, what I guess was temperature, anyway).  Then I did some light blows to try to set the weld, repeated with a little more borax, heat, light taps, heat, then basically tried to give it some wellie to solidify.  (Mostly I hit it square, but still need to practice better hammer control.)

However, anytime I set to hit the metal harder the layers would start to peel apart.  So I'd try a little more flux and reheat, light blows, heat, hard blows.  I also tried compressing it in my leg vice with some angle iron, just to try to spread a bit more even pressure across the stack than my hammering would.

In the end, though, all I made was an unholy mess with layers of metal all peeled apart.

So I wondered if anyone could give a little advice for if I try this again?