I Forge Iron

Found My Dad's Old Anvil

I remember this being around as a kid. My dad wasn't a smith, but was one of those guys who could do just about anything. An electrician by trade and an accomplished welder, he really could build pretty much anything. 

I always wondered what happened to his anvil so I asked my brother and he said it is buried under stuff in the barn on the old family homestead where my parents retired back to. 

So I dug it out. 

120 lb Trenton. In need of some cleaning, but generally in decent shape once I get the rust off. 

Now I just have to transport it from South Carolina to Massachusetts...

IMG_8942.JPG

IMG_8930.JPG

IMG_8938.JPG

IMG_8941.JPG

IMG_8944.JPG

Wow it took you that long for you to go hunt that down?  :D  Glad you found it and she's a beauty.  Please post pictures of it after you clean it up.  I just got a lead on a swage block that my dad remembers being outside my grandpa's old barn that was torn down years ago.  The current owners said I can look back there and take anything I want.  

The pitting is from long exposure and rusting. I'd do electrolysis on her and try to preserve as much steel as possible on the face. I don't see much wear and tear other than rusting, it might come back almost like new. Sometimes pits only mark places that aren't as deeply rusted and everything levels out when the rust is converted back to steel. Iron and steel expands when it oxidizes and so stands higher. Make sense?

I wouldn't do anything but put it in the tank but use something like citrus cleaner and a little Jet Dry in the electrolyte to help "wet," penetrate the rust. 

Frosty The Lucky.

On 3/18/2019 at 1:53 PM, Chelonian said:

That anvil looks to be in very good condition. Have you read about not doing any grinding or milling on the hardened face?

Yes.

On 3/18/2019 at 3:49 PM, Frosty said:

I must confess to being fairly ignorant of this process. Is there a sticky or post somewhere explaining the process in detail?