I Forge Iron

Type of steel for geologist tools (hammer and chisel)

Chrigneous

Hey everyone,

I am a geologist and an amateur blacksmith. I got into blacksmithing so I can make my own field tools and tailor the tool to the exact job I need it for. I have been doing a bit of reading and it seems like S5 or S7 would be the best steel to make rock hammers and chisels out of. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on other steels that would work for this application? Another aspect of making rock hammers versus "normal" hammers is that the handle and the head is all one piece of steel. The head has a side for striking and breaking the rock and the other end is more of a pick. I attached a picture of a general rock hammer. Any advice would be awesome! Thanks in advanced.

estwing-specialty-hammers-e30-64_1000.jpg

Steve Sells,

My reasoning for the one piece construction is that the amount of force needed to break some of the rocks puts a lot of stress onto the hammer. The wooden handles tend to break at the bottom of the head since that is what accommodates the stress, whereas if the handle and head are all one piece the stress is absorbed and distributed down the handle rather than being concentrated at the connection of the handle and the head. I hope that makes sense. It does take A LOT of damage before the wooden handles snap, especially if they are made and finished well and are not being treated carelessly, but I would rather try and forge everything as one piece if I can. I am still in the planning stages of how I can exactly pull this off, but I am sure it can be done without welding. 

Thanks Irondragon, I'll read through this so I don't become an annoyance.

Irondragon and Steve Sells,