I Forge Iron

Workpiece losing heat

I am a novice blacksmith I know I have to pay attention to the color of the metal bc I have a bad about of wanting to keep hammering even once the metal is to cold. Which brings me to my question. I have watched ALOT of smithing videos(more than 100) and I have noticed even if I heat the steel to a bright yellow the steel loses its heat really fast I mean abnormally fast. Any thoughts of why?

I use a coal forge and I take the steel out as soon as I see the yellow I want work the steel I may get 5 swings in and I have to heat it back up.

Edited by Mod34
Split into own thread

Welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

In answer to your question, I can think of a few possible factors. The first is that as a novice, you don't yet have the skill and hammer technique to move the metal quickly and efficiently. You may find that as you keep practicing, your skills will improve, and you will get more work done per heat.

Another common novice problem is hesitating between taking out the workpiece and taking that first blow, as well as between blows. Strike while the iron is hot!

Additionally, your anvil acts as a heat sink, and you will find that it draws the heat out of your workpiece, especially with smaller pieces. Try to minimize contact between the workpiece and the anvil, except when actually hitting.

Finally, remember that video cameras are not great at showing the actual colors of glowing steel. If you're trying to match the colors you see in a video, you're probably getting it wrong. This is one more reason that in-person instruction with an experienced teacher is especially valuable.

Don't forget that when you hammer metal it heats up some too.  So an experienced smith going batatatatatatatatatatatatabat with his hammer is extending the time it stays hot compared to a new person going tap....tap....tap. (Amount of force used in striking makes a difference too.)