I Forge Iron

Dysthymia rears its ugly head.

JHCC

As I’ve noted elsewhere, I’ve realized that my dysthymia is back.  The last couple of days in particular have been especially bad, and I only got a real moment of clarity last night while walking the dogs. I’ve been to the drugstore to get some St. John’s Wort (the herbal antidepressant that I used successfully the last time it was this bad), and I have also been using some of the relaxation techniques discussed in Michael Cochrane’s Prayer Request thread. So, thank you, Michael, for starting that conversation, and thanks to everyone else for contributing to it. Like so many discussions here on IFI, it’s not always just the person who asks the initial question who gets helped by the discussion. 

John, I have no real experience with depression but I still offer my support.  Feel free to give a call if you need and, of course, post updates here.  It's my hope that working on projects (planning, learning, and smashing steel) is a suitable treatment.  If that doesn't work I'm currently making pea soup and a number of people have told me that my pea soup is life changing.

Lou

I had to look that one up John. Turns out I know the feeling. 

Lou... Lol. Are you serious with the pea soup?  I gatta try some of that. I never thought that possible.

what has been life changing for me is my child on her way. She has been my ground, and I really have been more calm lately. Well, aside from the chain smoking and still drinking as much. I plan to cut way down very soon as I'll have to be in the mindset to get her to the hospital. I think I need to go get myself a new iced tea maker right quick. 

You were not taking anything away from Michaels topic. If anything it adds more meaning to it. And as you said, it's not just for the poster but anyone involved and others find it and can find help and meaning. Same as other topics. Wow all the helpful info. 

Prayers are with you John.