I Forge Iron

Craigslist Fisher just picked up? Whatya think?

I'm totally new to smiting and have just recently started picking up some equipment.  Yesterday I picked my first anvil that appears to be a Fisher from what I've read.  What can anyone tell me about this find and what do you think about it?  I really wasn't concerned whether it was a fair price or not... I really just wanted to get started acquiring equipment and it was within 20 minutes and seemed to be in good condition.  I'll post a few pics for reference.  Thanks!

20170508_083013.thumb.jpg.de4a42c873cad99248fc92e9602ab0ca.jpg

20170508_082305.jpg

20170508_083001.jpg

Thanks.  The guy I bought it off of said it was buried under barn debris and a foot of mud... said he wouldn't have even noticed except the part of the horn was poking through.  He wired wheeled it and posted it; said right after I agreed to buy it he had 10 people chomping for it. 

1 minute ago, King187 said:

He [...] said right after I agreed to buy it he had 10 people chomping for it. 

We see a lot of people dithering about whether or not to buy a CLed anvil, and they're almost always gone by the time folks make up there mind. Congratulations on moving expeditiously -- you have already received your reward!

I got it for 390.  Wasn't sure it's worth, but from what I've seen for a new anvil... figured it was available now and close = minimal fuss would be worth any overpaying I might do.

Have a question:

From what I've gleaned from scouring the Internet the "3" at the base means roughly 30 pounds.  Call me crazy, but it sure felt a lot more than 30; it was attached to an angle iron base but even considering that I'd have to say it was more than 30.  I could be misjudging, but I can curl 30 pounds for reps easily... and that simply ain't happening with this piece.  LOL I'm not concerned with the weight really at this point, being a beginner and all; more general curiosity.