I Forge Iron

Trolls?

Rich Hale

Every now and then someone posses a question in the forums,,starting off with,,i am new to all this,,,,don't have any tools or patience and then asks for technical assistance with an advanced shop project.  Most times that is answered soon by someone that could be of help..until the person says they are being picked on or bullied or any number of issues. Most of the time it sorts itself out pretty soon. Most of the time they will not answer any questions they are presented with. 

If they are just doing this as a prank call kind of thing..I hope it is as much fun as they thought it would be. 

Guess I just wanted to vent a bit...If they are trolls. I can perhaps give them gps coordinates for a nice bridge ti reside under. 

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have talked to people about this issue and one teacher expressed the observation that young folks too often have not learned the patience to research and learn about subjects.  I was told that often students expect *all* the information about a project to be in one place and be easily understood and followed.  Towards that end, for each project in a book, I was told, the author would need to start at the absolute beginning of the skills needed and then proceed with a step-by-step set of instructions to complete the project..... If such a youth was to flip open to the center of the book and not find a *complete* set of instructions, they would likely complain that the information to complete the project was not provided, because such individuals would not look elsewhere in the book for the introductory information.