I Forge Iron

Origin of the word Upsetting?

stevenha

I'm a beginner hobby blacksmith, and several times I've forgotten the word "upsetting" or "upset"  when I want to make a  thicker bulge.  Can someone who knows, explain the origin of that word, so it 'makes sense' somehow?  Or, tell a cute made-up story that explains it.

I suspect that the original term was not English.  We'd need to know what the term is in Greek/Aramaic or some other early language.  Latin might be good enough, since a fair bit of English is Latin based.

For instance, in brewing we use the term sparge, which in turn comes from the French espargier, which comes from the Latin spargere to sprinkle.   Smithing is nearly as old as brewing and so the language is going to be old as well.

Geoff

I believe it was discovered a long time ago, it involved a woman coming into the forbidden area, and the smith needing to make a point, he slammed the end of a hot piece on the anvil, and thus the discovery was made, and the forbidden zone has been inviolate ever since!

Divermike, as funny as that may sound, I want to remind you that there are female smiths out there that may not like that too much. If any female smiths took that to heart, your neck might get "upset" haha. But in all seriousness, I personally don't like to see gender bias, even if it is meant to be a light hearted joke.

-Crazy Ivan

Divermike, as funny as that may sound, I want to remind you that there are female smiths out there that may not like that too much. If any female smiths took that to heart, your neck might get "upset" haha. But in all seriousness, I personally don't like to see gender bias, even if it is meant to be a light hearted joke.

-Crazy Ivan

the modern language translation would be "to set up" meaning preparation beforehand or get ready. but as with most things it is never that simple, we set rivets to fix or fasten them so I guess upset "before set" is forming the head of the rivet.