I Forge Iron

When are you considered a blacksmith?

Hey everyone, i'm new to IForge, so my question is, when are you considered a blacksmith? I'm a welder and fabricator specializing in stainless steel for the last 15 years, but only been trying my hand at blacksmithing for the past year. People who don't know any better will call me a blacksmith, but in my opinion i don't consider myself one. So i decided you guys are the ones to ask, when did you consider yourself a smith? Thanks

That's really a good question.
I consider myself a blacksmith, l was a welder and fabricator for about 20 years before I turned my attention to something I had always been fascinated by. I then spent a few years learing the basics until I got to a level where if someone brings me something to do I can with confidence make whatever they are asking for in the way a blacksmith in the 1800's of before (in my mind blacksmithing started to die down about 1915) would have done it or be able to tell them it can't be done and suggest another method to do it using these same skills. There are still holes in my repertoire but they are mostly things I have not done, or done the hard way. As blacksmiths we are constantly learning new things but if you have the basics down and can do what is needed then you are one also.
I would be curoius to hear other opinions on this one.

As soon as you heat a piece of metal, and hammer it into a desired shape.

When are you a driver, pilot, golfer, baseball player, etc? With all of these , as soon as you do the activity you are a XXXXX Then the skill level comes into play,as to what level of XXXXX you are. Apprentice, journeyman, master, ace.........

now this is a contentious one........ I am a blacksmith by trade, but there are 'uncertified' people here who know far more than i.
There is a saying 'can i call myself an electrician because i can put a new plug on my grinder?'
I think accountability is a big factor there.