I Forge Iron

I was asked at work to harden EN24 . Looking for advice how to do it. Thanks

First i need to say this is my first time doing this or attemptiong it, hence all the questions.

I was asked at work to harden EN24t its a part for a rolling mashine that another worker milled out . there is 6x in total they were using these already but decided they want to get them harder, so they can last longer.

Could you give me advice how to harden it?

(I am using a gas forge for this) from topic (problem with forge. Welding temp)

I would heat the steel to 820/850°C how long i should keep in in the forge for? 

do i just quench in any oil? or sould i use something specific

then the tempering : what temperature sould i temper it? or should i temper it at all? these wheels are used in rolling mashine for rolling a 60/40mm mild steel box section 3mm thick

thank you guys for any advice.

20210604_143911[1].jpg

20210604_143840[1].jpg

I am no expert but have been around machine tools for a while.  It may not be the appropriate method of hardening you are presently thinking.  There are methods like flame hardening which will harden just the surface to make it much more wear resistant while retaining toughness.  Pack carburization is another method.  Have you a mettalurgist or materials person to consult with?

Work hardening is done COLD by plastic deformation like hammering or bending and any heating to above the dislocation climb temperature will cause it to go away.

Case Hardening is done hot using a compound that increases the carbon content of the surface of the steel allowing it to harden when quenched.

Regular hardening in heat treat is done with alloys of steel that will harden when heated and quenched in various ways. 

Note the two involving heat don't require welding temps!