I Forge Iron

Forge burner help please.

HazenDart

I am having a very confusing issue. I have built my own forge and burners. I have 0.35 tips and a 0 - 40 psi regulator. My issue is that for some reason I can't get that jet like burn. It doesn't have that jet like sound or pressure. I am at my witts end and I don't know what else to do?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqFDRBZZPWQ

See first off I'm new to all of this so please be patient. Secondly, I have been reading this forum and I have had no luck finding a solution. The youtube link is what I followed for the construction of the forge and burners. I'll post a video of the forge running in a minute.

Unfortunately, there are several bad choices involved in the forge construction shown in that video. The only change that you can use to help yourself now is to the burners.

Go to Ron Reil's burner pages on the Net, and look up my MIG tip upgrade to his drilled gas jets.

Did a quick scan of the forge video.  Doesn't look that bad to me, though I definitely advocate not just sealing the refractory blanket, but putting at least a skim coat of refractory over it for protection.  I've used a single layer of 2" refractory blanket for insulation (as it appeared was used in the video) and it has worked fine for me.  For the size chamber I would expect one 3/4" burner would suffice, but two isn't all bad (though it would certainly be nice to be able to modulate them independently).  I also don't like the video's use of a ball valve for metering gas, but you say you are using a regulator, so if it is a correct selection and working properly you should be fine there also.

It can be difficult to make a clean and centered drilled orifice for a single burner, got to be that much harder for two on the same pipe, even with the tee fitting in between.  If your regulator is working properly, that is most likely your problem, as Mikey indicated.