I Forge Iron

Used Miller Stick welder.

Lsat

I've never welded before in my life and I want to get a machine to start. A used  Miller AC/DC 150 Amp welder has popped up in my area for 350$ and is listed as "60% duty cycle"...I just need guidence.

I'm just getting started with welding myself. If you can find someone to teach you or maybe a class at your local learning annex or Co-op that is what I'd do. For me that isn't possible so I went to the library and got a text book from a welding course titled Modern Welding By Althouse,Turnquist,Bowditch,and Bowditch. As  far as the machine I can't tell you If it's a good deal or not.  It sounds a little expensive for my area but it may be different where your at.

Pnut (Mike)

I dont even know what a duty cycle is...to the reading

Right, I've fixed the duty cycle knowledge problem. I might try to talk him down, but is 350$a good price for the unit?

Those lower end old school stick welders are adequate for basic work.  With a little practice, you can learn to lay down a good looking and sound weld...but it does take some practice.  150 amps is adequate for most maintenance type welding on what a "smith" might normally run into.  Not a bad welder to have around.

However, it isn't going to be your favorite "go to" welder if you want to do some really nice work over the long haul.  A good wire feed (with gas, not flux core wire) is much more appropriate to the kind of fabrication a Smith might normally see.  My MIG gets used 99% of the time and the stick only when I have lots of heavy profiles to do.  

But...it's a good starter welder if you don't have deeper pockets for now and really want to get started.  $ 350 is possibly a little high depending on the unit...because old school stick machines come up for less and there is not much that can go wrong with them.  That 60% Duty cycle is not an issue for most non-production welding.  Just take breaks to gather your senses and examine your work while the machine rests.