I Forge Iron

Tongs versus vice grips

George N. M.

As background to my question let me say that I am a self taught smith and never had a master or even another smith to guide me until I had been forging for a dozen or more years.  When I started I realized that I needed something to hold metal to keep from burning my hand with transferred heat.  So, I went to my tool box and got out a pair of vicegrip pliers.  They worked fine and in different sizes were my standard hot metal grabbing tool.  It wasn't until I had been blacksmithing for some years that I acquired a pair of tongs.  They struck me as working OK but I had to keep pressure on the reins to keep from dropping stuff.  Now, I use both depending on the project but I still tend toward locking pliers (vicegrips), particularly for small size pieces of metal.

I have been told that locking pliers were invented by a Nebraska smith in the early years of the 20th century who was tired of dropping hot metal.

So, what does anyone think about the advantages of using either locking pliers or tongs.  It strikes me that tongs with specialized jaws work better for a special shape, e.g. holding the head end of a railroad spike, while locking pliers are better than simple flat jawed tongs for general work.  I will give you that tongs allow quicker adjustment of the geometry of holding device and work piece while a locking pliers gives a more positive pressure and less tendency to drop the work piece either by relaxing your grip or knocking it out of the jaws while striking.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah, Visegrips were invented by a blacksmith so he wouldn't drop as much stuff. 

Make a keeper for your tongs so you don't have to keep squeezing them. A flattened ring or C shape are most common but some have flip up hooks, rings, etc. 

Both have their place at the anvil, I have a number of tongs and visegrips and use them all.