I Forge Iron

New Logo, feedback and help wanted

Hans Richter

Design myself a simple new and modern logo. Let me know what you think. Below also the old one. I’m not a graphic designer so sorry for the simple approach. Next step is a translation of the logo into a maker mark stamp and an spray template to identify all the self-made equipment.

Get inspired by the iron atom with an anvil as the core ^_^.

I don’t know if their some graphic designers slash blacksmith is out there to help me work out a DWG-file to feed a laser cutter/etcher or a 3D stitching/sawing machine in exchange for documentation regarding my self designed/build equipment (foundry’s, power hammer, kiln etc.) If please contact me by PM.

The rest of the community, feel free to borough if you want.

Cheers, Hans

Concept Logo Forge Tumulus.JPG

Abachtelijke Smederij Richter.png

Does the number and positioning of the circles and lines have a specific meaning?

Personally I think the new one has a bit too much going on, and as above, might not translate well when shrunk down.... if the design works as a touch mark, and scales up, it would be a lot more consistent and recognisable than having two or more variations?

Lieber Herr Hans,

Your suggested iron-anvil logos are superb.

But I suspect, they will encounter two problems.

One): 

As suggested by some other smiths,  on this thread,  the design will not scale down successfully.  (because of too much detail, with lines too close together).

Two):

Those thin lines would not hold up too well if the design if raised on the touch mark.  (because they are thin).

But the design could be etched into the touch mark, (intaglio). And the lines might be made thicker.

Both designs,  especially the first one,  would make wonderful logos for business cards, and stationary.

The second design should present less problems.