I Forge Iron

"Donor Tree" project and Blacksmith's Endless Generosity

SpankySmith

I had a local charity that I've supported over the years approach me about doing a "Donor Tree" for them, based on a design they "sort of" had conceived.  It would stretch across an entire wall, with plans to have it continue stretching across nearby walls as time and need required.  I agreed to do the work pro bono, with them just reimbursing me for materials, because I REALLY support the work they do, providing much-needed mental health services in the community.  They asked me about this a year or so ago, and then waited for me to finish grad school before I could tackle it.  Well, this summer was it.  

When Al Stephens - well know to IFI'ers here - first taught me in an "intro" class a couple years ago, I was immediately struck by the amazing generosity of blacksmiths.  Every single smith I encountered was always anxious to share their insight, their tips, and their time.  I'm a TOTAL amateur, and I hadn't picked up a hammer in two years while I was in school, but when I approached Al about using his power hammer to do some tapering of ends for this project, he offered me not only a quick lesson in how to use that beast (I'd never even stepped up to one before), but he opened up his entire shop for the project!   I would STILL be pounding away at my backyard anvil if he hadn't been so generous.  We finished up the steel work in 5 very hot sessions, in 100+ Alabama heat. 

Let me be quick to reiterate here:  I am a rank amateur.  This is NOT a complex piece by any means, and someone who knows what they're doing could have done much better with it, but the client was over-the-top happy with it and has already asked for more of the free-floating "branch" pieces to continue the spread into other rooms.  I learned SOOOO much from Al doing this project - he shared so much insight with this often stubborn, bull-headed student who seems to learn best by screwing up first!