I Forge Iron

Wood Floored Smithy?

I have large pieces of cardboard (like washers and dryers come in) all over the floor in my shop for cushioning and to catch any oil or other liquids that might spill.  If red hot iron lands on it it will scorch but I have never had more than that.  Of course I do pick it right up, I don't just let it sit there.  I have been doing this for over 10 years.

Let me know if I can help you.

Wayne 

Interesting. I never thought of using cardboard. I want to ideally make my shack disassemble-able, being a Marine I tend to move from house to house. If it comes around to it, I wanna be able to separate it between walls, floor, and roof so I can pack it away and take it with me. It'll be a bit more work in order to make it work, but in my mind if I spend the time on doing it right now it'll pay out in the long run.

You can dissolve borax in water and spray it onto the wood for additional protection. 

Hammering hot metal directly ontop of wood is pretty common practice and it just chars. 

Wood floor is fine, just practice some common sense. After shutting down the forge, go back out to check on things half an hour later and look/smell for any signs of smouldering. 

I have a dirt floor in my shop, but I had a piece of plywood leftover from some remodeling in my house. It needed a home, so I just dropped it down to stand on. The few times I've dropped something on it, it gives a small flame until you pick it up and then it's nothing but a scorch mark. Like JAV said, just a little common sense and you should be just fine.