I Forge Iron

Student doing a project needs questions answered

peggieweg

HI there im a second year welding student and my teacher is having me go out and ask blacksmiths some questions.

1. Whats your name and where are you from?

2. How did you become a Blacksmith?

3. What do you like most about your job?

4. What do you dislike about your job?

5. What do you do on a day to day basis at work?

6. Do you have any welding background?

7. What advice would you give to a beginner welder?

thank you!

1. Whats your name and where are you from?  See name to the left of screen ..... from my mom

2. How did you become a Blacksmith?  took a course

3. What do you like most about your job?  hobby, not a job, ..... I like that people don't spit on me any more

4. What do you dislike about your job?  retired from counseling in a mental health clinic.  I really disliked it when people spit on me

5. What do you do on a day to day basis at work?  retired  ..... blacksmithing is mostly about working hot iron in its plastic form, and not focused on welding

6. Do you have any welding background?  took a course in arc/gas/mig welding and two courses that involved forge-welding

7. What advice would you give to a beginner welder?  take a course .... and if you want to do blacksmithing then to take some courses in blacksmithing

Is your teacher confused about whether blacksmithing is about forging hot metal in its plastic state,..... versus a focus on modern welding careers?

Charles Stevens

Bradley Ok USA

I have tinkered with steel since junior high (old hibachi and a hair dryer) dad taught me to gas and stick weld. I became a farrier 15 years ago because I didn’t like the way my horses were treated. Vets found out I was good with young, wild and hurt horses. Smithing grew from fabricating and shoe shaping.

i love horses, and creating somthing with my hands.

people