I Forge Iron

Cormorant

I've 99% finished my 2nd sculpture commission, a spread wing cormorant. I drew up the outline shape with my client so I knew they'd be happy with the proportions & posture. (In the pic of the drawings is a sample piece I whipped up for them). It's head was always going to be turned but I'm not that good at drawing.

They've seen it now & are very happy. They just want it to rust so no weatherproofing. The small section of light gauge railway it's on will be welded to a verical post of light gauge railway so it can be stood up in their garden.

DSC_1693.JPGIMG_20160729_183325.jpgIMG_20160729_111132.jpgDSC_1694.JPGIMG_20160727_195004.jpgDSC_1680.JPGDSC_1658.JPGDSC_1281.JPGIMG_20160707_153250.jpgDSC_1264.JPG

She loves it. It's a wedding anniversary present to her husband - the Iron year. When drawing it up we joked that the front on view looked a bit like the Wallace and Gromit penguin & she was worried it could look a bit 3 Reich eagle like...but all those fears have completely  gone now she's seen it.

Cheers. No the feet were rods of 8mm (5/16th?) round bar which got kinda lost so I ran some weld beads over the top & it worked out well. A fluke I'm happy to take. Especially as it's all stick welded as i haven't yet got my MIG up and running so the whole job was a pain in the genitals.

2 hours ago, Alan Evans said:

Good fun.

I trust you happened to notice how visually powerful and effective your armature is.  You should definitely log that away for the future.

Alan

By armature do you mean my sample piece? She wanted so keep that but I said no because I keep all my sample pieces for my "stock room" so that I can snare future clients by saying "it'll look like this..."

I have been known to tactfully leave nice sample pieces positioned around the workshop so when clients come to collect commissions they spot them and their idea juices get flowing again...