I Forge Iron

Newbie looking for some ideas

So I am still new at the blacksmithing game and I was wondering what are some good projects for a new smith.  I have already made a lot of hooks and even worked my way up to weird hooks.  I tried making a leaf but I'm still using a lighter hammer which makes leaf making really hard.  I was able to get the leaf made but stepping down the stem is what got me.  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

What sort of things interest you? All sorts of basic projects. Fireplace pokers, dinner triangles, tongs, spoons, forks, little key fob things, split crosses... I can go on and on. Roses are another possible project.

Even with hooks there are all sorts of things to work on. Twists, tapers, upsets, riveted connections, ball ends, scrolled tips, bends... Determine what technique you want to work on, then look for a project that will let you practice that. My next plan will be towel bars. I have 4 or 5 ideas I want to try. I'll punch and rivet the arm to the base I'll screw to the wall. The towel bar itself might either be bent or I may make the stand offs separate and  punch them so the bar gets inserted and riveted over... This past summer I wanted to work on joinery, so I made the stand for my forge with slitted and drifted mortise and tenon joints as well as some wedged tenons. I still want to add a handle to the forge and I'll probably come up with some other planes to try some different joints on that.

Leaves gave me issues for a bit. I kept having cracking issues where I necked down the leaves because I kept bending the leaf back and forth as I worked down the stem and the thin part cooled faster than the areas I was working. Turned out my angle of the work to the anvil kept causing the work to bend and flex because I didn't have the angle of the work and hammer matched up.