I Forge Iron

What tools to buy and what to make.... specifically a guillotine

jdawgnc

So I  just got my shiny new ABANA membership for christmas and I'm looking to buy a few new toys to get my workshop a bit more efficient. I'm a decent welder, and have taken a few smithing classes so I know enough to know that good tools are very important to making a good finished product. I've got a nice little two burner gas forge, a great old mousehole anvil, a solid post vice, couple hammers, and a couple pairs of tongs. All the basics, plus a more than decent welding set up. As I shop around I notice that actual new blacksmithing tools are crazy expensive, which brings me to my question... What tools are worth buying and what should be cooked up at home? My main question now is about the guillotine, specifically, anyone use a smithin magician and is it worth it? I'd love to expand this to other tools though, like hardies, why is something that seems so simply made $60? I feel like I can heat treat and weld a cut off together pretty well. Sure it may need to be sharpened or re-treated more often but that's a lot of money saved... Making something as complex as a guillotine though, I can see where tight tolerances would come in very handy with making good clean cuts and fullers.

So basically, what do you think of the "magician" and what other tools would you absolutely buy before you build?

There are lots of ideas for a variety of guillotine tools out there. Anywhere from a simple homemade scissor type action to the commercial ones and everything in between. For me it all comes down to what machining/fabricating abilities and materials do you have available vs. how quickly you want to be using the tool.

I looked at the Smithin Magician and liked the price and the option of being able to buy the kit or a completed unit. The one thing I didn't like with it was that you are limited to the size hole of the machine.