I Forge Iron

How do you think this was made?

bfe1044

I am just getting started in the craft and don't have a lot of knowledge...can someone help me understand how the the knot work was made on this?...I find it interesting...would this be plate steel domed then raised from the back or would it be thick plate pushed back into itself to raise the knot work?...really like the idea of it but can't wrap my head around it just yet lol...any help well received always looking to learn more :)

post-53014-0-64939800-1399225175_thumb.j

the middle piece could have been cast or it could have been forged using a press with a die having all of the knotwork in concave and then a hot piece of iron is pressed into the die.

depends if there are a lot of them or is it a one off.

how you could make it is different

Maybe bossed up from the back and chased for the knots. Chasing tools of various shapes are made to set down (depress) the metal. It's different from engraving where metal is 'chiseled' and removed. When chasing, there is metal displacement, so the design calculations need to be worked out.

It's possible the raised design was pierced from a thinner sheet and soldered/brazed onto the backing. The design on the hinge looks like it would be very difficult to chase, so it would seem to be engraved or soldered.

Greetings BFE,

You can determine the metal with a magnet...  If steel it was probably domed and chased design..  The round bar work is simple smithin..  It does not look like a casting to me but I have been wrong before...   Closer pictures of both sides and possible origin would help..

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim