I Forge Iron

At what point are you considered a Blacksmith/Bladesmith?

50 yrs. ago to become a Firefighter one had to learn to "Put the Wet Stuff on the Red Stuff"  At the end of 30 yrs. that was still one of the most important thing to know.

Congress to my knowledge hasn't had the time to pass certification requirements on Blacksmiths so maybe "you is when you say you is"  and "know enough to hit the hot red thing with big hammer"

After having gone through the training of Electrician, EMT and for Jujitsu, I was an apprentice in trainging until my instructors said I was ready, and I passed their tests.  Until then I was just a student,  now I am still a student, but also a teacher.

I did the same as a smiith.  When I started I was an apprentice, until my teachers and peers started calling me other.  Which happened one day at Bills shop and a mutual long time smith friend of ours told Bill to "stop milking me for free labor,  he is a jourmeyman and you need to start paying him for doing your work now"  lol

I feel that self given titles never mean much, its when our teachers and peers acknowledge our works,  then we have earned it, and it starts to have  meaning.

I did the same as a smiith.  When I started I was an apprentice, until my teachers and peers started calling me other.  Which happened one day at Bills shop and a mutual long time smith friend of ours told Bill to "stop milking me for free labor,  he is a jourmeyman and you need to start paying him for doing your work now"  lol

My take would be in the traditional sense you were a "smith" when you reached Journeyman status and were able to work on your own.

Then I pose another question to go with this. How about for us poor guys that end up being self taught (well with the help of various online assistance like these forums and acquaintances online and such).