I Forge Iron

HY-100

scruffy forge

I got my hands on a piece of hy-100 steel. I know nothing about this type of metal. It is 3/4in thick by 1ft wide and 3ft long. im new to making knives and would like to use it for this purpose. Would this make a good knife? If so how do I go about tempering and heat treating it?

Did yoiu google and ask for the specs on it? that will tell yoiu wot it has in it,,and you can compare that to wot it takes to make a good blade....The site shouild also have heat treat information if it is a steel that be helped by that.....And there are the knife makings lessons and heat treating data on this site...may be worth a lookl

I did look on google, there isnt much on useing it for a knife. all i have found is that it is a structural steel and that the HY stands for high yeld. I have played with it a bit, and made a few knive as a keepsake for some friends. I more or less was wanting to know if anyone has heard of it and knows weather it would be a good material for a functional knife.

Does it give the alloy and carbon content?  IF so it's told you all you need to know about using it for knives.

Didn't even need to follow a link from the google page

"HY100, This quenched and tempered low-carbon alloy steel finds uses as pressure vessels, heavy construction equipment, and in large steel structures"   From MatWeb

So tough and gooey rather than hard and edge holding.  Not a knife alloy!

• 9 years later...