I Forge Iron

Defining a Treadle Hammer

I guess this is as good a place for my first post.  I am new to blacksmithing, still building my first forge. (solid fuel out of an old 20 gallon air tank) Any ways I watch a lot videos and have begun laying out my my forging area and seen a few treadle hammer designs on you tube.  Since I know buying a power hammer of any kind is out of my foreseeable financial future, I was thinking on building a treadle hammer, basic design, with a 8x8 post set in the ground with the hammers pivot mounted on this post, using garage door springs to hold up the hammer.  Anvil base under the hammer would be set up with a base plate with a hardy hole in the center. Figure to make the tools I would need to fit the hardy hole for various needs weather is is flat surface, or what ever else I would need.  Just a thought for a poor man's replacement for a power hammer and since getting help will not be an option, having this set up would be helpful when an extra hand is needed. 

So here is the question for you older hands at the forge,  would a heavier hammer be useful?  Instead of an 8lb sledge, go with a massive 16lb, or make it where I can change the hammer from lighter to heavier as needed?

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

I think you are getting quite a bit ahead of yourself if you are just starting our and are contemplating building a treadle hammer.  That is like someone who just got their divinr learner's permit looking at a high powered sports car.  Maybe it isn't a Formula 1 racer but it is not for the beginner.  A treadle hammer is more an intermediate skill level tool.