I Forge Iron

Friend wanting to forge

I have a friend who is wanting to get into blacksmithing as well and right out of the gate wants to make a bearded axe. I have told him that that is not a project for a beginner and should try something else to start with but he isnt backing down.

What are a few projects I could give him to teach him what he would need to know to make an axe? Apart from the general basics of forging of course. I told him being a beginner myself, I wouldn't be of much help fairly quickly. I did let him borrow my book on making blades that I purchased from Steve Sells on here (I had a wonderful time reading it by the way Steve!)

Make him him do a leaf key chain or a bottle opener first. Your forge your rules :D. Then ask him if he still wants to make an axe right off the bat. If he does then he still needs to make the tools to be able to attempt such a project. If you already have then, tell him he has to make his own. It's part of the process.

Other than that, there are many, many projects that involve slitting/drifting and/or welding. Obviously some of them are easier than others. If you're going to get yourself on track to make an axe, start small. Take a ball peen hammer and turn it into a small tomahawk. Half the work is already done for you there.

Hm... Steve Wells.... Wells.. is that H.G.'s brother? *grin*

I had thought about a bottle opener as well as it would make him stretch material and also drift and punch. I have iterated to him that I have yet to even make a successful knife let alone something like an axe. I also haven't personally successfully done a forge weld either, so trying to do a fold for the eye of an axe would be really hard as I couldn't help or offer guidance.

Cross posted with Frazer, who I completely agree with.