I Forge Iron

Thinking about Oxy-Propane

JHCC

I just got a custom job that should be putting a bit more cash into the smithing budget, and I'm thinking about how best to spend it. One thing I often consider is, "What can I add to my setup that will do the most to expand my shop's capacity?" This time, I'm seriously thinking about adding a torch. I don't anticipate using it for welding (very happy with the wire welding so far) or very often for cutting (the horizontal and vertical bandsaws, the chop saw, and the various handheld saws handle pretty much everything I'm doing these days). What really interests me is the possibility of localized heating outside of the forge for riveting, bending, and the like. Since my shop is one half of an attached garage, I'm cautious about having acetylene about the place. So, oxy-propane looks like a good option.

Since I'm a serious amateur rather than a full-time production smith, I'm not inclined to go whole-hog on expensive professional-grade gear. It looks like I can get a Hobart (Victor-style) medium-duty, propane-rated torch set from Northern Tool for about $200, and a propane-rated rosebud would be another $53. I've already got propane tanks, so I think I'd just need to get an oxygen cylinder from AirGas. If I find myself using it a LOT, I'll consider adding a gas saver (although Frosty did say something a few years back about using a battery charger as a spark starter).

Any thoughts?

(Thanks in advance for any advice.)

• Replies 138
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I couldn't imagine myself without a torch setup. I have had one since the early '70s and use it often. Mine is an A/O setup with large tanks and I have 40 feet of hose so I don't have to move them. I use it mostly for cutting stuff the plasma cutter won't handle and for brazing up stuff.