I Forge Iron

Most versatile tongs

Chimaera

Hi. I'm a total newbie, and am looking to get some tongs. Right now I'm primarily forging rebar and 1/4" mild rod, but I hope to get some 1/2" mild round bar + square bar, 1/2" O1 drill rod, and maybe some 1095 flat bar, and I'm looking at leaf and suspension springs. Right now I'm just getting started, working on leaf keychains and kiridashis. I'm looking at Ken's Custom Iron rapid tong blanks. They have a bundle with v bit, flat jaw, scroll, bolt jaw, and slot jaw tongs. However, this bundle isn't much in the way of savings as opposed to buying those all separately. What I'm trying to figure out is what I need for those plans on a budget. Thanks.

Chimaera

The most versatile tongs IMHO would be vise grips... What with the adjustable jaws and such.. That's what I used until I had made enough pairs to retire them.

However, like many multi-tasking tools it's not ideal for everything. They aren't great for round things so I used to flatten one end for a better grip, then cut that end off (if needed).

I find myself using box jaw and bolt jaw tongs most often, but honestly it really depends on the project.

I've heard slot jaws are pretty handy, but I haven't used them yet..