I Forge Iron

Stupid idea??

So I want to do some bending in 1/2” round stock but I want to really localize the heat for tight bends. With the holidays coming the budget is super tight...I know the small HD propane torch won’t get 1/2 hot enough so instead of buying a bigger better torch kit could I not use the parts from my propane forge? If I take the burner out of the forge it’s kind of like a torch with no handle but I can manage to find something to hold it with..I’m brand new to forging so I’m not going to be surprised if someone says this is a completely stupid dangerous idea for some reason lol...let me know. My forge is basically the same as the 1 burner forge in the top of the pic. Thanks. 

7B317E1B-9866-46D5-8FA1-7C930A1163FE.png

You could heat it in the forge like said above and just quench the ends and leave it hot where you want the bend. It would probably be easier than taking the burners off. They might not burn the same outside of the forge as they do in it. 

Pnut

Yeah I do use the selective cooling from quenching some times but I have a VERY budget friendly vise so I’m always struggling to quench where needed and then get it set up correctly in the vise before it’s cooled too much. In the long run I just need a better vise but for now I’d like to have it set up perfectly and then apply the heat where I need it. 

One of the guys in our state group makes and sells 3/4" burners. Along with the burners comes a 1" flared fitting that fits over the end of the burner and is held in place with a setscrew. In demos he sets the whole thing up in a clamp stand he made, and does exactly what you are hoping to do. The flared fitting is adjustable with the set screw for dialing in your flame. I recall the flare is about 2" long.

Steve

On 11/18/2020 at 9:34 AM, pnut said: