I Forge Iron

First time

sidewinder81777

I'm very new to smithing in general but quarter mokume sounded relatively easy so into my little micro forge a stack of 8 went. surface prep was a scrub with steel wool and an acetone bath, I did't use any kind of press just pulled the stack out with a pair of needle noses when they started to sweat and gave them a couple light whacks. The first heat the top and bottom quarters didn't stick so just did a couple reheats until everything was nice and fused. then ground the edges and just stared at the billet for a few days contemplating where I wanted to go from there. thought of restacking a couple times to bring the layer count up but dropped that idea and just shaped it up and ladder patterned it at 24 layers. should make a nice pendant.

db1b0fb1-447d-4f6a-9f83-57a1107d2af3.jpgbccaf420-035a-44df-8e16-2a1344601817.jpg20190314_132146.jpge1801462-6e09-4993-8b3f-959cb8c7af15.jpg

You didn't make a clamp? Two pieces of reasonably heavy plate, 1/4" is minimum but don't get carried away. Drill 4 matching holes that bracket a stack of quarters in each plate. 

You clean and clamp the stack tightly and heat it all in the forge. The copper, nickle of the billet expands more than the steel bolts so pressure rises exponentially. 

I have a piece of steel I lay on my anvil thicker than the bolt heads and fits between them. I have a longer section of the same bar I can use like a punch from above. When the billet reaches sweating heat and soaked a few minutes I lay it on the bar and strike it from above with the other using a heavy hammer and moderately slow dead blows.

By dead blow I want the hammer to just stop, bouncing can shear layers so heavy slow is more effective than sharp blows. 

Nice key fob, well done.

Frosty The Lucky.

I just went back and looked, if you use reasonably thick plate and trim the corners from the clamp it'll lay on it's side in your forge with room to spare.