I Forge Iron

Platform on the side of an anvil

Hi,

I'm looking at buying the anvil in the photo (not for the price listed on top...) and it has a little platform that sticks out of the side. Total noobie question what is it for/called? You can just about see it sticking out on the back right hand side. Apologies for awful photo but the guy at the rec yard was already looking at me funny because I bought my own hammer and kept tapping away at it and bouncing things off of it so I just rushed through photos ;) 

20180430_163934[4686].jpg

For information purposes I think that the 'extra large' tag was actually meant for the beast behind that you can't see. 

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've just received a reply back from the place and I could have either for the same price. Any advice on which one to pick. If I recall the black one had a bit of a better ring to it but I can't be sure now. The black one does look in better condition and I guess the two horns are nice. I have asked for some extra photos of the black one as I can't recall if it has two hardy holes or one hardy and one pritchel hole. 

Obviously on photo inspection it's difficult to say but any advice would always be appreciated. 

Hard to give advice on which to pick, because your use of it may be completely different than mine. But if JlBlohm's identification is accurate in Britishiron's Anvil Identification Help post of one looking similar to the larger anvil in the back being a "Yorkshire" pattern, I'd have to go with that one, only because one side of my family comes from the Yorkshire area. So, it would be very cool to own one like that.

I like your reasoning ;) I think I might just go with the black one because I like it better.... shhh

I've had two black motorbikes, first was Black Bess and the second was Black Betty (bam ba lam) so anything black, shiny, likely to cause injury and cost more than I have money for appeals to me :)