I Forge Iron

Rant

Rl69

The other day I got home from work and fired up the forge. I was able to hamer out a pritty good tong half out of 3/4 round hot rolled steel. 

I jumped up this morning excited to finally pin a set of tongs together I was proud of. I made my first set down ( sorry if my Termanolagly is off I'm new to this ) made my turn to the right got a few hits in before runing out of heat. Stuck it back in the fire and started cleaning on the other half. Went back to the fire pulled out the steel, yep it's burned not bad but burned. Things just kept geting worse. Finally got them pined and the burned steel came back to haunt me. Finally I gave in,cut the rains off and started a new set out of 5/8 square stock. The first half looks pritty good. The secound half started walking I just shut every thing down and came inside. 

All in all it was a great day. I was able to hammer steel all day. Now my beautiful wife is frying frog legs and I'm reading this forum 

Thank you guys for all the hard work y'all do,puting out information so guys like me can improve our skills 

R169: If you don't come up with an uncumbersome web-handle I'm going to make one up for you! :P

Sounds like a good day to me, I NEVER got that far along when I was getting started, I still make crummy tongs, functional but crummy. 

Where's the rant? You promised us a rant, where the heck is it? I opened the post expecting a good rant-like something but all I get is a report on a beginner's good days work. 

You DO realize this kind of broken promise will flavor any web-handle I have to make one up for you don't you? :o

Hmmmm? At least ease the disappointment with some pics. . . eh? 

Frosty The Lucky.

Texas tongs? Or Texas Frog Legs? Throwing out some suggestions. I agree with Frosty, I want to see pics. I haven’t attempted a set of tongs yet and I am looking at others’ work for inspiration. Welcome aboard!

Sorry for the misleading title :)