I Forge Iron

Forge welding

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Arkham - Use flux.  Borax (not Boraxo) works well.  You can find borax in the laundry section of some big box stores.  The band name I get is "20-Mule Team."  Try 1/2 inch square stock.  Be prepared for frustration.  Really, your best bet is get with a smith who is good at forge welding and learn hands on.  Three critical issues are 1) Getting the right temperature (judging the color), 2)  How and where to hit it, and 3) When to stop hitting and reheat and refine the weld.  These things have been discussed a lot on this site, but hands-on with someone is the best way to learn. 

Walking Dog

Yes use flux! You can use borax, or there's a product called iron mountain flux. It has iron in it and it makes forge welding super easy. I've had no bad experiences with it. Down side is, it costs a lot more than a box of mule team. 

Flat stock works well to start with. Make rungs out of them. And after welding, and cooled, they will ring if welded. If not, it's just a thud. 

well, if you are welding wrought iron you dont need flux. I would recommend wrought iron if you want something easy to forge weld, though if you are wanting to practice forge welding to work your way up to pattern welded steel, than I recommend practicing on scrap high carbon steel, practicing on wrought iron or even mild steel is a completely different animal than welding high carbon. 

Littleblacksmith