I Forge Iron

Hay-Budden anvil a good deal?

Mike89

Im new here (First post). I have been blacksmithing blades for about 4 months and my rail section is not cutting it for me anymore, I found a local guy selling a heybudden 120lb anvil for $475. I know Hay-Budden's are good but is that price too much?

anvil  106.jpg

Mod note: Link to sales site removed.

Good Morning, Mike

A bird in your hand is worth more than two in the Bush. It is not unrealistic. You can always play the barter game when you go and look at it, take cash, but leave some bills in your other pocket. Put $ 350.00-375.00 on top of the anvil and say negative things about the nicks and about it being ONLY a Hay-Bud. As you dicker, bring out a $20.00 bill, one at a time. Some people play this game, some don't. If you really want it, you will own it. If you think it is too much for your bank book, be prepared to walk away from it.

Hay-Bud's are excellent Anvils.

Neil

Well I was not fast enough, I did however manage to find a nice chunk of 4140 tool steel, its 12-1/2 x 9-1/2 x 4". weighs in at 118lbs and I have access to a heat treat guy who can harden it. Ive been looking at Emerson anvils and found they use 4140 and heat treat to 48-50Rc, so I figure if I can get this chunk to that hardness I should have a anvil that will do exactly what I need it to do.

A large chunk of drop will be a big improvement from your rail anvil. If your local craiglist is anything like mine the reason you can't find any anvils for sale except for a few is they go fast. The only ones left up there are the 5-6$/lb ones on my local, and they stay there a long time. Anything in the 1-4$/lb range goes FAST by me up here in WI.