I Forge Iron

Side draft hood not working properly

Hi everybody

I have made a side draft hood ( super sucker design ) but it is not working properly. i have installed my hood on the side of my forge and put the ventilation tube through a window since the landlord won't let me drag a chimney through the roof. on the other side of the window i have a 90 degree angle to point upwards with a little "hat" to stop rain from entering and i use a Ø200mm ventilation tube.

if it is too windy out side i cannot stand i my workshop since air from outside is blowing in through my chimney and into my forge.

i could really use some help with this problem since i am almost getting grey hair from this problem. i have tried with two ventilator blowers, a small one that broke do to heat and a big one that also broke due to high temperature. both blowers were sitting next to the window and still broke.

now i have tried with this form of ventilation but it still doesn't work quite right.

please help me if you have any idea of what i am doing wrong.

thanks in advance.

20160806_155850[1].jpg

20160806_155843[1].jpg

How high above the peak of the roof is it? It needs to be a minimum of 4' higher than anything within 10' (I think). Move your forge closer to the window, the shorter the horizontal run the better.

Use a T on the outside 90* one arm points downwards the other upwards to the rain cap and the horizontal run from your hood enters the leg.  Envision a capital T on it's side coming out of a forge hood. How this works is first it prevents cold air from filling and blocking the stack so your hood will draw as soon as warm air enters it. It's other function is to give down drafts an easy route out, they'll go straight down rather than make the turn and travel horizontally against rising hot air. Lastly it eliminates the need for a rain cap, any that falls in will just keep going very VERY little will make the turn and flow horizontally.

Frosty The Lucky.