I Forge Iron

Help for a Gas Sword Oven / Large Vertical Forge?

BlackthornForge

Hi,

I'm looking to build a 72 inch vertical forge with minimal volume.  Does anyone have any advice on design?

My basic plan is to use a steel pipe (8 inch diameter) lined with 2 inches of Kaowool.  This will provide a 4 inch diameter mouth that runs the length of the pipe, which will give me enough room to hang longer pieces for a heat treat soak.  I'm not looking for forging heat, but definitely need to get thicker steel to critical temperature for heat treat.  I'm thinking about using a 3-burner system, evenly spaced along the length of the pipe to try to keep my heat even but I'm concerned that I'll end up with nasty hot spots around the burners.  Is there a way to even out the heat better?  Is 2 inches of Kaowool enough to provide efficient operation?  Any and all advice is welcome!

Thanks!

I am not experienced enough to say with certainty, but from what I have read... I would think ribbon burner(s) would be the way to go if you absolutely want to go gas heated. My understanding is also that burners are harder to maintain steady heats for durations that some steels require. Have you looked into electric? 

Don Fogg has a system of a pipe mounted in a drum in its side, the pipe is mounted at the top of the drum,  the burner is at bottom heating the air, so  its not a forge, but a oven. heating the pipe that contains the blade for even heat.   I can not imagine how many claymores you do, to need a 72 inch oven, not how a vertical manages even heat......

We have had the same question come up befor this month, and the poster became "upset" with our advice. So understand if we are a bit loath to answer.

for anealing, normalizing and hardening we need a forge/oven that can heat the entire blade ( tho by moving back and forth a foot shy will do) but to forge you anly need to heat 6" at a time as you can't effectibely hand forge more.