I Forge Iron

Bending a musicians triangle

Hello,
I need to bend a musicians triangle. The advice that is given in my books is to isolate the heat by using a torch. I have no torch.
Any advice is welcome. I would rather not fumble about too much on this one, as is my usual way. Of course I do have ideas, but I am not very experienced.

Robert Hanford

What heat source do you have?

I'd mark with chalk where you want to bend, heat the area, then quench if needed to isolate the area (can use a cup, old cat food tin, watering can to pour the water) Then either bend using the bick of the anvil if you have one or clamp an old bit of inch pipe in a vice and by holding the metal with some pilers, or bending forks if you have one, bend around the radius of the pipe.

the length of the legs will affect the note you get, you would want them different for a fire alarm or dinner gong type of thing but I dont know about for a triangle for a musician, also you would probably want something hardenable and to heat and quench it.

I have some small round stock and may have a go at one this weekend

i have a wooded anvil stump. Put a piece of rod down the prichel hole and another down the hardie hole to use as bending forks, Drive then into the wooden stump just enough to make them secure. Heat your triangle stock and dog against one rod and bend against the other. 

Controlling the heated zone is easy to do with a bit of water dribbled from a can.

One thing that I have found makes a tremendous difference in the ring of a triangle (I only make big dinner ringers) is to bring the entire thing up to heat after you've bent it.... and then quench it in water.  Mild steel might not harden like carbon steel does, but something is happening there.  Try the same triangle before and after the quench and you'll definitely notice a better tone in the latter.

I make mine from half-inch stock, with nine inch legs.  I've never bothered with making the legs different lengths.