I Forge Iron

rr spike gun

I have been forging for 3 years now. I have made lots of stuff tomahawks, bowie knifes, spoons, and arrowheads just to name sum. I have never made a gun so i was wondering if a rr spike would do. I under stand that the metal needs to be soft. RR spikes are soft. I under stand this is more dangerous than any thing i have ever made. I do not want to blow my hand off :( . so I would like some advise on steel and tools. I live in a small Mississippi town so i do not have many tools just a lot of steel. I have round bar stock of many sizes, will that do the job of forming a rough bore? thank you for all responses :) and have a nice fall !

Not to hurt your feelings but, do you have a good rescue squad and hospital near you? :o

I would consult a professional gunsmith prior to even attempting a gun out of a RR spike. But if you insist, then I wish you all the luck.

You'll be in my prayers tonite :rolleyes:

Mark<><

Sounds to me like you don't know enough about fire arms to try making one. Sure, I made a working .22 zip gun from 1/4" steel brakeline when I was maybe 12 and didn't get hurt but I was 12. Even so I fired it from behind a large boulder just in case.

Making fire arms isn't something to be taken lightly but if you must please notify your next of kin and EMS. I'll say a word for you with higher. Seriously.

Frosty the Lucky.

Always try to dangerous things as SAFELY as possible!

I once built a small cannon from heavy oilfield pipe, (2" bore): I checked with a friendly gunsmith on the suitability, had the machine work done by knowledgeable people and had input from some folks at Fort Sill on the proof testing and care and feeding of it. It still resides with me 30 years later and still gets a firing every now and then.