I Forge Iron

Blacksmithing as a profession

Who here is a smith by profession?

Do you end up doing more fabrication or artistic expression?

How do you go about getting business in the beginning?

How much money did you have set aside/invested in your shop when you started.

What sort of income can blacksmithing bring?

What sort of hours are you working?

Any chance at retirement as a smith? I imagine it's like football in the sense that it's hard on the body.

Hi,
I'm not a full time smith,but thought I would give the info I came up with when I looked into this. I have taken about 4 classes at Campbells in NC,which gives you a week to talk to the teacher who is a pro and to get some pretty good info on the life style.
The first thing you come up against is there is only so many hours in a day and consequently only so many items you can produce. This is you're ceiling and thats if you are good with a good name and a quality product. Taking a 1/2" steel rod and putting a twist in it and calling it a fire poker ain't ART! Meaning most of the things you make,people don't really need,they have to want it!
I like to make knives,but if you buy a shop full of tools and then you spend a week to make the knife,making the best one you can make, what is it worth??? If you sold it for $150 is that good money??? I think not! This is not to be taken as a negitive post but the next time you run into a full time blacksmith going to work in his shop everyday to feed his wife and kids,buy the man a drink, because he's a hero as far as I'm concerned!!! Like I said just my 2 cents worth!