I Forge Iron

Cutting costs of cut costs

What are some DIY methods of cutting your own bar stock to fit your vehicles when you buy them? The cut charges were high the last time (which was also the first time, actually) I went to buy bar stock. I’d rather spend that on steel, not their torch gas. 

Would a 24” bolt cutter work? Or is it not strong enough? Angle grinder and a portable generator?  Or should I try strapping the 20’ stock to a 2 by on the top of my pick up’s cap? I’m a newbie, so I’m mainly interested in 1/4-1/2” square/round stock.

Thanks! 

-Bridget

Use a chisel or hacksaw to notch the stock, say 1/2 the thickness,  then bend and it snaps.

Cut it the length you can haul, say 10 feet lengths. Just be sure to tie it down well with a red flag on the end.

Once you get it home think about that 20 foot length and how you can use it.  One 20 foot length will yield 2 ea 10 foot, 4 ea 5 foot, 5 ea 4 foot, 6 ea 3 foot, 10 ea 2 foot, and 20 ea 1 foot pieces. The 18 inches, 16 inches, are good numbers as they are 2 per 3 foot section and 3 per 4 foot section.  Make your designs use these full sections and you end up with no scraps. 

Thomas Powers uses a bow saw with a metal bandsaw blade instead of a wood blade for cutting metal in the field. Longer stroke and easier cutting that way.

And who said you must tie to to the top of the cab? If your careful you can secure it under the truck. Avoid the curbs, sharp transitions to inclines and leave room for the suspension to work and the tires to turn.

Do not build a box and you will not have to think outside the box. Then everything becomes an opportunity. (grin) 

If you ask at the desk they will charge you per cut. Ask in the yard where you pick it up and you could probably get it done for nothing except a box of donuts. Or if you break out the hacksaw they may offer to cut it just to get you out of there.  

Pnut