I Forge Iron

Giving up trying to find a SH Anvil..

So, Ive given up trying to find a used anvil.  Theyre all either far too far away, massively overpriced, or utterly knackered.  Or all 3.

So Im looking at buying a new Vaughans anvil from Anvils.co.uk and just suck up the price.

Question is, which size to go for?  Im a beginner, and I dont plan on making 6 ft long swords for a while yet!

Im thinking a 84lb one would be a good starting point, and go on from there...seems to be a good middling price..

Advice please :-)

First, have you read through the improvised anvil section? Could get an anvil thats not listed as an anvil for a lot less money. 

If you truely want a new anvil, I'd say you'd probably be better off in the 100-200# range. Just an opinion of someone with few details on what you Do plan to forge on it. 

Welcome to IFI... I always suggest reading this to get the best out of the forum. READ THIS FIRST

Finding anvils kinda depends on where in the world you are located, hence the suggestion to edit your profile to show it. Have you tried the TPAAAT approach?

Never heard of an SH anvil.

Welcome aboard Rojaws, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance. Why is that important? The wider your contact base the more likely you'll be able to find resources, equipment and tools in this instance but an anvil is about the easiest piece of equipment there is. Honest, no fooling, anvils are just a ting to hammer hot iron on. 

Anvil is NOT defined by horn, heal, hardy hole, weight, material or shape. It is just a HEAVY THING hard enough to back the hammer under the material you wish to forge. That's IT, PERIOD.