I Forge Iron

When to start signing your work

This is something I've been pondering sort of abstractly, I'm not near ready to myself, but when during the learning of your craft do you invest time/money in a touchmark?

It's I'm sure different for those of us that were properly trained through an apprenticeship or similar, but for the average hobbyist whose hammering away in a shed? It's obviously not worth the complete novice putting their mark on the 50 J hooks they learn to point and taper with, but at what point do you consider yourself to be "producing work" worth signing?

You could invest in a cheap engraver to initial things and date them if you like till you feel confident to purchase a touchmark. Also you could make a simple touchmark to sign your work. It never hurts to mark your work unless you are really trying to keep up some sort of standard.:rolleyes:

I'd have started marking my work Sooner, if that helps. 

Perhaps when you start selling your work. Buyers do like to have the maker's touchmark when they buy an item. At times I have forgotten to touchmark a finished piece only to have the buyer return later to ask for it to be marked. My one regret is that I did not add a serial number to some of the more popular items.

A few years back when starting out, I put my mark on the back of my work. As things improved I started marking the front. Now it seems I look to place it more front and center. The problem I am now finding is, it seems I need  to order a smaller one for the work I am doing. I need to check with the guy out in Idaho if he can make me another one in 1/16 inch. The 1/8 inch is just to big at times.        Life is Good                Dave 

EVERY THING..   EVERY THING..  EVERY THING.. 

I have early piece I had made 35 years ago before I started signing stuff..    30 year later the stuff is being put on the market as vintage or historical..